Wednesday, June 22 2016 21:40 EEST
Social Media
MFA of Ukraine: '‎Ukraine‬ has obtained the observer status in the African Union'
Ukraine, observer status, African Union, policy, UN security Council, ECOWAS, Morocco, African states

Charge d'Affaires of Ukraine in Ethiopia Mr. Mykhailo Kirichenko presented the accreditation letter to the Chairperson of the African Union Commission Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma on June 22, 2016.

MFA of Ukraine informed: 

'Ukraine has officially obtained the observer status in the African Union.

This status will facilitate the maintaining of active dialogue between Ukraine and African countries, especially with those where the Ukrainian diplomatic presence is limited.

Ukraine’s observer status in the AU will be an additional mechanism of promoting Ukrainian foreign policy in the international arena, including those in the framework of our membership in the UN Security Council in 2016-2017.

Ukraine currently received observer status in two organizations on the African continent - the African Union and the Economic community of West African States (ECOWAS).

The African Union is a continental union consisting of all African states except Morocco.'

The African Union  is a continental union consisting of 54 countries in Africa. The only African state that is a United Nations member. The AU was established on 26 May 2001 in Addis Ababa and launched on 9 July 2002 in South Africa, with the aim of replacing the Organisation of African Unity (OAU). The most important decisions of the AU are made by the Assembly of the African Union, a semi-annual meeting of the heads of state and government of its member states. The AU's secretariat, the African Union Commission, is based in Addis Ababa.

During 2010-2014 the observer status obtained such countries as Armenia (2010), Azerbaijan (2011), Georgia (2011), Latvia (2012), Estonia, Lithuania, Kazakstan (2013), and Belarus (2014).

latest news