Wednesday, June 15 2016 15:42 EEST
Uzbekistan closes border for Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan and Tajikistan
Russia, Putin, war, Donbass, Ukraine, conflict, Syria, France, terrorism, defence, ministry, death, killing, USA, Minsk, negotiations, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan and Tajikistan, border, close, SCO, solemn, security

The country's borders will be closed for technical vehicles and civilians from 15 to 25 June. An exception was made only for the residents of Barak.

Uzbekistan has closed its borders for all the vehicles, individuals and goods from neighboring countries, the border department reports. The reasons for these measures weren’t explained, but they noted that residents of southern Kyrgyzstan can cross the border according to previous regime.

At the same time it became known that Tashkent is to host a summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization next week. The event is sort of anniversary and the meeting of heads of the SCO will be solemn. The program of the event is to last for two days.

Journalists suggest that the border was closed due to the important event for security reasons.

The SCO now includes Russia, China, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan.

latest news